The Mars Society, the world's largest space advocacy group dedicated to the human exploration and settlement of the planet Mars, seeks to educate the public, the media and government about the importance of exploring Mars and the need to create a second home for humanity on the Red Planet.

To help further this cause, the Mars Society has created a Speakers Bureau with a list of representatives in the U.S. and Canada available to talk about the organization's mission, its work in Mars-related research, such as the Mars Desert Research Station and the University Rover Challenge, the latest news about Mars exploration and the growing field of STEM-driven education and curriculum with a special focus on space exploration, including the Red Planet.

If your school, organization, club or company is looking for a speaker on any of these subjects, please feel free to contact one of our representatives in the list below to inquire about availability.  Please note that invited representatives will need to be reimbursed for travel expenses if the event takes place outside of their general area.

If you have any questions, please email us.  Thank you.

 

STATES / PROVINCES / AREAS

CALIFORNIA

Boris Debic
Position: Chapter Representative (Mars Society)
Area: San Francisco/Oakland
Email: boris@debic.net
Expertise: Mars Society (general), Mars exploration

Gerry Williams
Position: Chapter Head (Mars Society)
Area: San Diego
Email: filmist@mac.com
Expertise: Mars Society (general), Mars exploration, Mars films
COLORADO

Dr. Robert Zubrin
Position: President (Mars Society)
Areas: Boulder, Denver, National
Email: cfay@marssociety.org
Expertise: Mars Society (general), Mars exploration, human space flight, terraforming, aerospace engineering

Dr. William Farrand
Position: Senior Research Scientist, Space Science Institute; Mars Society member
Areas: Boulder, Denver
Email: farrand@spacescience.org
Expertise: Mars Society (general), Mars geology and robotic exploration

Joseph Palaia
Position: Director of Flashline Mars Arctic Research Station (Mars Society)
Area: Boulder, Denver
Email: jpalaia@marssociety.org
Expertise: Flashline Mars Arctic Research Station, Mars exploration and settlement
GEORGIA

Nicole Willett
Position: Director of Education (Mars Society)
Area: Savannah, parts of Georgia
Email: nicolew@marssociety.org
Expertise: Mars Society (general), Mars exploration, astrobiology, STEM education
ILLINOIS

Chuck McMurray
Position: Chapter Representative (Mars Society)
Areas: Chicagoland area, St. Louis*, Minneapolis*, Milwaukee* (*Travels frequently to these areas)
Email: chuckmcmurray@outlook.com
Expertise: Mars Society (general), Mars exploration, STEM education

Kent Nebergall
Position: Former Crew Commander of the Mars Desert Research Station (Mars Society)
Area: Chicagoland area
Email: knebergall@gmail.com
Expertise: Mars Society (general), Mars Desert Research Station, Mars exploration

 

MINNESOTA

Chuck McMurray
See Illinois listing

 

MISSOURI

Chuck McMurray
See Illinois listing

 

NEW ENGLAND AREA

Susan Holden Martin, MBA, J.D.
Position: Steering Committee Member, Former Executive Director (Mars Society)
Areas: New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Maine, Vermont, Rhode Island, Connecticut
Email: SusanM@MarsSociety.org
Expertise: Mars Society (general), Mars Desert Research Station, Flashline Mars Arctic Research Station, Mars exploration

Ronald Dyer
Position: Chapter Representative (Mars Society); former Mars Desert Research Station crew member
Area: Maine
Email: ronedyer@roadrunner.com
Expertise: Mars Society (general), Mars Desert Research Station
OHIO

Jerry Black
Position: Chapter Head (Mars Society)
Areas: Dayton, Cincinnati
Email: gblack@cinci.rr.com
Expertise: Mars Society (general), Mars exploration, aerospace industry

Lyle Kelly
Position: Chapter Representative (Mars Society)
Area: Southwest Ohio, Kentucky, Indiana
Email: lhkelly@aol.com
Expertise: Mars Society (general), Mars exploration

 

TEXAS

Kurt Chankaya
Position: Chapter Head (Mars Society)
Area: Dallas
Email: chankaya@yahoo.com
Expertise: Mars Society (general)

 

UTAH

Chuck Killian
Position: CapCom Coordinator, Mars Desert Research Station (Mars Society)
Area: Salt Lake City
Email: chuck.killian@domainsi.com
Expertise: Mars Society (general), Mars Desert Research Station, space communications

WASHINGTON

Chris Vancil
Position: Chapter Head (Mars Society)
Areas: Seattle, Puget Sound
Email: clvancil@yahoo.com
Expertise: Mars Society (general)

 

WASHINGTON, D.C. AREA

Bryan Guzman
Position: Mars Society Representative, Former Mars Society Chapter Head (Los Angeles)
Area: Greater Washington, D.C. area
Email: bryanjg@marssociety.org
Expertise: Mars Society (general)

Kevin Sloan
Position: Director, University Rover Challenge (Mars Society)
Area: Greater Washington, D.C. area
Email: kevin@marssociety.org
Expertise: Mars Society (general), University Rover Challenge

Kris Lehnhardt, M.D.
Position: Former Chief Flight Surgeon, Mars Desert Research Station (Mars Society)
Area: Greater Washington, D.C. area
Email: kris.lehnhardt@gmail.com
Expertise: Mars Desert Research Station, space medicine

 

WISCONSIN

Chuck McMurray
See Illinois listing

 

WINNIPEG (Canada)

Robert Dyck
Position: Chapter Head (Mars Society)
Areas: Winnipeg, Canada
Email: rbdyck@chapters.marssociety.org
Expertise: Mars Society (general), In-Situ Resource Utilization, terraforming, Mars exploration
Additional speaker options will be posted as they become available.